Theme of the Keynote Report and Speakers



1,Yu Qiuyu
Theme of the Report: The Library and Cultural Transmission

About the Speaker:
Mr. Yu Qiuyu is a famous Chinese cultural scholar, theorist, cultural historian and writer. He was President of the Shanghai Theater Academy and served as Advisor to the Shanghai Municipality in the late 1980s. He has published many books, including The History of Drama Theory, The History of Chinese Theater Culture, The Aesthetic Psychology of Theater, A Bitter Journey through Culture, Mountain Notes and etc. He was granted many awards, such as the First Prize of National Excellent Teaching Materials, National Prize for the Publication on Drama Theory, Shanghai Philosophy and Sociology Works Award, and Lu Xun Literary Award. Mr. Yu was recognized as one of “Shanghai’s Top Ten Scholars” in 1986 and one of the National Outstanding Experts in 1987. In June 2008, the Shanghai Municipal Education Commission decided to establish “Master Yu Qiuyu’s Studio”. In 2010, he became Dean of Faculty of Humanities and Arts, Macau University of Science and Technology. Starting from October 2014, he serves as Chairman of Shanghai Library Governing Board.


2, Ms. Donna Scheeder

Theme of the Report: Libraries: A Call to Action."

Main DiscussionThe speech will discuss societal trends affecting libraries and our profession and what we can do to position libraries and ourselves for success in a rapidly changing world.

About the Speaker
Ms. Donna Scheeder is newly elected president of the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA), the global voice of libraries.  She has held a number of increasingly responsible positions at the Library of Congress including Director of Law Library Services and Deputy Chief Information Officer for the Congressional Research Service and has extensive experience of working in the US and international library fields, especially relating to library services that serve parliaments. Ms. Scheeder served as President of SLA and is a recipient of the John Cotton Dana award given in recognition of outstanding contributions to the field of special librarianship. She was elected to the SLA Hall of fame.

During the post-2015 negotiations she has been IFLA’s Head of Delegation to the UN in New York.


3, Mr. Han Yongjin

Theme of the Report: Change and Innovation: Reflection on the Future Development of Librarianship in China

About the Speaker:
Mr. Han Yongjin is a research librarian and doctor of literature. He studied in History Department of Nankai University and graduated in February 1982. From February 1982 to December 2013, he worked for the General Office of the CPC Central Committee, General Office of the State Council and the Ministry of Culture successively. In January 2014, he was appointed director of the National Library of China, secretary of the CPC NLC Committee, and director of China National Center for Preservation & Conservation of Ancient Books.

Mr. Han Yongjin was a Member of State Language Commission and one of the judges for the State Preeminent Science and Technology Award, the National Technology Invention Awards, the National Fund for Philosophy and Social Science, the Best Works Award of the Propaganda Department of the Central Committee of the CPC and the Ornamental Column Awards. He published multiple articles on cultural administration, cultural policy and librarianship in People’s Daily, Guangming Daily, China Culture Daily, Journal of Library Science in China and other newspapers and journals. He also published a series of books including New Vision on Cultural Development, New Cultural Consciousness, Overview on the Theories of Socialist Culture with Chinese Characteristics and Introduction and Introspection on the Cultural Reform in China over the Past 35 Years. He helped editing Collection of Deng Xiaoping’s Thoughts on Arts, Annual Report on Cultural Innovation and General Introduction of Fine Arts. He is honorary principal of the Institute of Protection of Chinese Ancient Books in Fudan University, adjunct professor of National School of Administration, Nankai University, and Harbin Engineering University, and designated lecturer by the Work Committee of the Central Government Departments under the CPC Central Committee.